RSS

The Dark Knight Rises, with it my blood pressure

20 Jul

My wife and I went to go see The Dark Knight Rises today.  Having only been to the theater twice in the last 6 years for films other than Disney/Pixar/kid fare we jumped in.

I am glad we did.  It was at times a stunning film.  The sound was massive when it needed to be, the film was shot well and I found the script to be well written overall.  There was a clunky sequence or two where important information was shared and it came off as, well they really needed us to know about this.  It was awkward to me.

Other than that I found it on par with The Dark Knight and a shade below Batman Begins.  I enjoyed Tom Hardy as Bane, however it was Anne Hathaway’s Catwoman that shocked me.  Perhaps I didn’t expect much from the character but I was intrigued  and engaged by Hathaway and Christopher Nolan’s take.

We didn’t see it in 3D or at the IMAX.  For me that didn’t diminish the impact of the scenes that were supposed to have gravitas.  I believe 3D allows filmmakers to be lazy when it comes to important scenes.  Granted, I have not gone to too many 3D movies- it is too expensive for my tastes unless my daughter wants in.

I am almost to the point where that will be the only time I go an see films.  She is still in the kids category so any noise or talking I can give a pass to. If you are going to a Batman movie on Opening Day you should probably be engrossed in the experience.

Sadly the guy with the attention span of a fly decided to sit behind me.  I was hoping that my just audible to the rows around me after the serene voice soothingly requested “We ask you to please not talk” addendum of “And Jon demands it” would have done the trick. I forgot we were talking about a fly mentality and a two hour and forty minute feature though.

Of course being that he felt he was in his living room I had to inform him that he was incorrect, in fact this was not his house and he should be quiet.  The second time it was shut up.  By the denouement I had given up.

I used to go to incredible amounts of movies in the theater. My twin brother was an usher and as such,  four free tickets were at his disposal daily. I still remember vividly waiting to see Batman when it was released in 1989. I had on my beloved pair of Joker Converse high tops.  I wore those things until they ripped so completely from the sole of the shoe that I couldn’t put them on without tearing the last thread.

I didn’t have my first awful experience (regarding fellow patrons) until Spider-Man in 2002.  I was pulled out of that film from beginning to end. Every movie since has become progressively worse. I love the theater experience, but it may have passed me by, at least for now.  At least the last hurrah for now was taking in an extremely well done film.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 07/20/2012 in Weekapaug Groove

 

Leave a comment