RSS

Locks of Love

24 May

I enjoy watching documentaries from time to time. While every one of them has their slant there are some that have one clear message.

It must have been two and a half years ago that I watched “Locks of Love: The Kindest Cut”. I had heard plenty of Locks of Love prior to watching this film, but in grand testement to the filmmakers my heart was in my throat by the end.

Perhaps part of my emotional response was because to this point I have a healthy and happy daughter. I had worn my hair long for around 12 years before my wife became pregnant. In order to not have “Signs” moments(the sign says long haired freaky people need not apply) I cut it without a second thought.

This film made me think of what I could do to help. Money will probably always be tight. I decided I could grow out my hair again. Inexpensive, helpful and informative (- “growing your hair out, huh?” me- “yeah I’m donating it to Locks of Love”).

At the end if my first grow I was convinced that it would be a one time thing. It was hot, annoying, often unruly. Also, the end result of my donation looked like a long version of the Oompa Loompa tuft from the good version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I sent a small monetary donation with the hair. It would not surprise me if my hair ended up in the sell pile. So it goes…

I have been growing it back out for about a year. I thought about my minor discomforts compared to what these young girls deal with and I was ashamed at my selfishness.

So I use hair spray to control my thin fragile locks at work. With the humidity kicking up I use a two pony tail set up at home- one standard and a mini samuri one in top.

I figure I am in line for a fall shearing- it needs to be 10 inches minimum. I was just shy of 12 inches last time. Every time I look at my tater ( my daughter) it reaffirms my decision to grow for the children helped by Locks of Love.

Turn on your love light people.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 05/24/2012 in Weekapaug Groove

 

Leave a comment